3/29/14 | by Chris Eger
In the latest round of new Connecticut gun laws to take effect, those wanting to buy a long gun will need the blessing of the state police starting April 1.
As part of the package of harsh laws enacted following the December 2012 Sandy Hook school shooting, the new requirement is only now coming into effect.
Buried inside the massive 140-page bill, it will require those without a concealed carry permit to acquire a “long gun eligibility certificate” from the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (Connecticut State Police) before being allowed to purchase a rifle or shotgun in the state.
The newly effective law states that:
-Individuals must apply for a “long gun eligibility certificate” through the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (“DESPP”) to purchase any rifle or shotgun. You are exempt from this requirement if you have a Connecticut permit to carry a pistol or revolver; a pistol or revolver retail sales permit; or a pistol or revolver eligibility certificate.
-The fee (tax) for this certificate is $35 and must be renewed every five years.
-You must complete a DESPP-approved firearms training course.
-You must submit fingerprints with your application and a fee of $50 for state fingerprints and $16.50 for federal fingerprints.
-The DESPP commissioner will have 60 days after the receipt of your application to issue the “long gun eligibility certificate,” which can then be presented to a licensed firearms dealer to purchase a long gun.
The Connecticut State Police have come under fire in recent months due to the controversial registration of newly classified “assault weapons” and “large capacity magazines.” These attempts, and suspected large-scale non-compliance from gun owners, have led to pro-gun organizations challenging state lawmakers to either enforce the law or repeal the ban.
While Second Amendment groups advocate compliance with draconian new requirements, they also caution Connecticut voters to hold their representatives accountable.